CompTIA Security+ or CompTIA CYSA+: Which Certification Should You Get First?

Image for post
Image for post

In accordance with contemporary hacker attacks and data leaks, cybersecurity has become a crucial issue for any organization that is securing sensitive and confidential information. Cybersecurity professionals must become more dynamic with their defense and threat intelligence. They need to continually upgrade their knowledge of new resources and techniques applied by attackers and perceive how to avoid them. CompTIA has designed certifications to help technical professionals improve their practical, hands-on expertise in cybersecurity and obtain a higher level of qualification in the field.

When IT professionals are looking at the certification available in the field, they surely consider CompTIA, the tech association that provides certifications in information technology. CompTIA Security+ SY0–501 certification and CompTIA CySA+ CS0–001 certification are the most prevalent certifications in cybersecurity. Both of these certifications can prove the current employers that the professional holding either of them is an expert in cybersecurity and competent to carry out the concerned responsibilities. However, there is a difference between them also.

CompTIA Security+ SY0–501 Certification

The CompTIA Security+ certification is part of the fundamental competencies training suggested by CompTIA for IT professionals at the initial stages of their careers. This is acknowledged as a base for any IT professional upon which they will later acquire more distinct certifications designed to different professional pathways. One of them could be a cybersecurity field with a thorough understanding of its perceptions and techniques.

Read: Become a Security Specialist with the CompTIA Security+ Certification

Before sitting for the CompTIA Security+ certification exam, the applicants are required to take the CompTIA Security+ course which is aimed to equip them with the profound knowledge in cybersecurity and evolve all the essential skills to assure they are qualified to tackle a broad range of security problems when they come up.

The CompTIA Security+ certification exam syllabus includes the following areas:

  • Cryptography
  • Authentication and authorization
  • Host, LAN and application security
  • Wireless, cloud and mobile security
  • Environmental security and controls

After the training, IT professionals will be able to take the exam to achieve the CompTIA Security+ certification. It confirms to the hiring managers and prospective employers that certified professional possesses the basic knowledge of cybersecurity and is qualified for not only determining the risks and issues but also of troubleshooting them. After earning the CompTIA Security+ certification, the IT professionals can be truly called cybersecurity professionals. They can receive positions such as Systems Administrator, Security Administrator, Security Specialist, Junior IT Auditor/Penetration Tester, and other related positions.

CompTIA CySA+ CS0–001 Certification

The CompTIA CySA+ certification confirms the analytics-based approach. This indicates that cybersecurity professionals will be qualified through examples and various scenarios of the situations that can occur in real life. Although there are certain patterns that can be pursued in cybersecurity that likely to be more or less common, it’s essential that professionals in this field perceive the tools available for them properly and can work fast to troubleshoot even in exceptional conditions.

The main objectives of the CompTIA CySA+ exam syllabus are the following:

  • Vulnerability management
  • Cyber Incident Response
  • Security Architecture and Tool Sets

IT professionals who are preparing for the CompTIA CySA+ CS0–001 certification exam will learn how to employ environmental reconnaissance methods utilizing relevant tools and techniques and analyze outcomes. They will also get to understand how to carry out an information security vulnerability management operation. The CompTIA CySA+ certified professionals will know how to define threat data or behavior to figure out the prospective incident impact and prepare the toolkit to choose the appropriate course of action.

Related Article: CompTIA CySA+ Certification: Your Way to Success

The CompTIA CySA+ satisfies the ISO 17024 standard. By earning this certification, professionals can acquire jobs such as Threat Intelligence Analyst, Cybersecurity Analyst, IT Security Analyst, Vulnerability Analyst, and many more.

Both CompTIA Security+ certification and CompTIA CySA+ certification can be achieved after passing the corresponding exams. For Security+, the exam comprising of 90 questions, which need to be answered in 90 minutes. The CySA+ exam consisting of 85 questions, and the time limit is 165 minutes. Both exams include multiple-choice and performance-based questions. The passing score is fairly high; it’s 750 for each of the exam (on a scale of 100–900).

CompTIA Security+ certification and CompTIA CySA+ certification exams are offered in a secure environment in the approved test centers. Both of them will help IT professionals to obtain a thorough understanding and practical skills of cybersecurity, which will empower them to move forward in a career in this field.

Hello there, i am IT professional and passionate blogger

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store