CEH, CISSP or OSCP: Which Certification Would Be Better?

Image for post
Image for post

What is Information Security?

Information Security is all about securing information and information systems from unofficial access, usage, disclosure, or modification. Information Security assures the Integrity, Confidentiality, and Availability of information. If an organization requires security policies and relevant security rules, its confidential information and data will be insecure; hence, putting the organization at high risk. An organization is having definite security control guidelines and methods help in defending the assets of that organization from unofficial access and disclosures. For protecting an organization from any exposure and modification, it requires an expert. Information Security certifications confirm the expertise of security professionals in their relevant domains.

CEH (Certified Ethical Hacker)

A Certified Ethical Hacker is a certificate, which proves the professionals having understanding and expertise on how to detect the vulnerabilities and weaknesses in targeted systems. A Certified Ethical Hacker certification qualifies the security professionals to understand the system applying exploitation tools and to think just like a malicious hacker. This manner to evaluate the security aspect of a target system is completely legitimate and lawful.

Winning Benefits of CEH Certification

CEH certification qualifies individuals in the precise information security domain from a vendor-neutral perspective. It also includes some of the topics from the CISSP and many of the techniques and tools of penetration testing. However, it is far behind or not as detailed as compared to the OSCP. CEH is an entry-level certification that only expects solid knowledge of networking. An individual can have CCNA and CCNA Security before sitting for CEH.

Scopes and Restrictions of Ethical Hacking

Ethical Hacking is an essential and important component of risk assessment, auditing, and responding frauds. Ethical hacking is broadly practiced as penetration testing to recognize vulnerabilities and risk, and emphasize loopholes to take defensive actions against attacks. However, there are also some restrictions on ethical hacking. In some cases, ethical hacking is not sufficient to solve the matter. For example, an organization must first find out what it is looking for before employing an external pen-tester. It helps in completing objectives and saving time, then the testing team troubleshoots the real problem and fixes the issues. The ethical hacker also helps to perceive the security system of an organization better. It is up to the organization to take the actions suggested by the pen-tester and implement security policies over the system and network.

CISSP (Certified Information Security Systems Professionals)

The CISSP is an extensive and high-level certification and sometimes recognized much better than CEH and OSCP. It is one of the world’s leading cybersecurity certification. It has many benefits over the CEH and OSCP, but penetration testing/hacking is NOT the prime focus of the certification.

ISC2 is a non-profit organization that was established in 1988 but started operating in 1989. This organization sets information security standards across the globe.

The ISC2 awards CISSP certificates. For configuring and maintaining best in a cybersecurity program class, this certification presents thorough knowledge. The CISSP certification is intended to test the skills of any cybersecurity individual.

Top 6 Tips for Passing the CISSP Certification Exam

CISSP is the best certification one can receive in cybersecurity since this certification is amongst the very sought-after certifications, which are recognized worldwide. ISC2 has awarded CISSP certifications to applicants from over 149 countries throughout the world.


CISSP certified professionals are first hired to lead the organization to ensure the highest data security level. Many of the jobs require CISSP certification as one of the obligatory requirements. CISSP certified professionals are also employed by organizations like banks that need to assure the security of their data from being hacked. CISSP is required as a mandatory requirement by even NSA in the US for job eligibility.

Advantages of CISSP

The certification is rated as qualifying for the top level of IT certification when working with the US federal government. Federal IT certification has three levels; these are the A+ being considered Tier 1 and the CISSP being Tier 3.

The Importance of CISSP Certification for Cybersecurity Specialists

When compared to CEH or OSCP, it covers a much more comprehensive range of topics. It includes Incident Analysis, Penetration Testing Business Continuity, Incident Handling, Asset Security, Security in Software Development, Risk Management, Identity, Security Operations, and Access Management.

It is possibly one of the most significant and well-respected certifications for people aspiring to work with IT security management.

CISSP Domains

The CISSP certification measures the proficiencies of cybersecurity professionals in eight domains, which are:

1. Risk and Security Management

2. Security Assessment

3. Engineering and Security Architecture

4. Network Security and Communication

5. Access Management and Identity

6. Testing and Security Assessment

7. Operations for the Security

8. Security of Software Development

Goal-Oriented Career

Without having any aim of becoming a CISSP certified professional, working in the cybersecurity field makes no sense. Any individual in the cybersecurity field should right away start preparing for this popular certification as this certification will upgrade their skill sets and will also transform their entire career by unlocking great opportunities to grab. The CISSP exam preparation is very easy for someone who is passionate and committed to succeed.

OSCP (Offensive Security Certified Professional)

OSCP, like CEH, also an emphasis on penetration testing or hacking. It is a focused and beneficial certification and has become the benchmark for penetration testing in the security domain. Current vulnerabilities are detected, and OSCP carries out organized attacks.

OSCP is a very hands-on exam, which comprises of two parts: a nearly 24-hour pen testing exam, and a documentation report due 24 hours after it. Before you sit for the OSCP exam, you are expected to take the Penetration Testing with Kali (PWK) course.

To Sum Up and Recommendations

Anyone looking to establish a career as a Penetration tester, the OSCP should be the first choice while anyone keen to make a career in Cybersecurity must have the CISSP as their goal to be achieved. Certification is fundamentally to enhance one’s skills and experience. However, they will be of little worth for someone without experience in this field.

Hello there, i am IT professional and passionate blogger

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store